Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Body Image.
I am going to talk to you about body image today. Specifically, your body image. It does not matter what others think. No, really. It doesn’t.

You choose!
If you think you are never going to be thin, then you will act that way. If you think you are going to be thin, you will act that way. You make that final decision to walk an extra five minutes, take the stairs instead of the steps, control your diet…

What matters?
Getting your mind set to change is the first step of many. You know why you are where you are at and that is what matters. When the time comes that you are ready for change you will know where you are at and you wont have to do much searching as to why you are there. Just start planning your changes.
There are a lot of little steps mixed in that first step.

True story:
I collect my weight mostly in my abdomen. More weight = bigger, rounder abdomen(stretched from pregnancy, so it goes into a nice round shape).
When I was heavier people would ask me if I was pregnant. When I was self conscious and felt embarrassed about being overweight I would just answer no and move along (feeling embarrassed, didn’t want to look at anyone in the face just wanted to get out of that room as soon as possible).

Change your body image, change your attitude.
Once my body image changed so did my attitude. While I was still fat but working on changing my body image (how I perceived myself and all my beautiful extra-ness), I would be asked “Are you pregnant?”. My answer: “Nope, just fat.”(and I knew why, but I was not going into that, I would just smile and keep going).

People are naturally curious creatures.
I could then see that the person that asked was then more embarrassed than myself and just trying to strike up a friendly conversation. They were naturally curious. I was naturally honest, polite, and picked a different topic for them.

Remove the stigma of words.

A lot rests in how you take the message being presented to you, you can either defuse the situation or escalate it.  Thinking back now, maybe I should have used the word ‘overweight’ which is more socially acceptable.  I accept fat, overweight, obese (where I technically started).  Obesity is defined as having more than 30 percent body fat (find any bmi calculator – and plug in your numbers.  The simplest one I use is found on the nhlbi.nih.gov website BMI Caclulator.  (I’m going to try to make one myself, I’ve been told to find the code but I kinda want to make it from scratch just to say I did that – suggestions?)

 You have to have a clear understanding of where you are right now, to see where you have to go.

You have to take a good strong look at where you are at and just be accepting to move on to the next step towards your long term goal/s.  You have to be real with yourself, matter of fact ‘so to speak’, remove the emotion for just one second so you can see clearly without beating yourself up (which is what tends to happen when we still have the stigma attached to the word).  Make it more technical.  Use the word to help to point you in the direction that you have to go.  Use the calculator.  Play around with it by inserting a lower weight and see where you end up at the higher and the lower percentages.  What you envision is all possible when you know where you are starting from.

You make the final decision!
You are the one that makes the final decisions that take you in the direction you set!

Happy 4th of July weekend everyone!

To everyone out there this weekend, Have a happy and safe 4th of July, stop worrying about what others think of your body. Remember to use kind words about yourself when you do talk about your body. What matters most is what you think! 

Sign-up update.
Currently signing people up to work with me towards their goals (lose weight, stop smoking, gain weight healthily, stop drinking, going back to school… the possibilities are endless). Please email me at signup@wait2goal.com I’m still working on the program details and will keep you posted. Since I am starting this solo and part – time for now I will only be able to accept so many people at a time. Funding will go towards upgrading my site and the tools that I make available for my clients. If you know someone I may be able to help please share this with them!

You may contact me at contact@wait2goal.com – general questions

Sign up by e-mailing the type of mentoring support you are interested in.  Phone or email.  Monthly or weekly.  What works best for you?  Signup@wait2goal.com

