Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the most important things to remember is to believe in yourself.  If you tried to do something before and failed at it and are coming back to try it again in different ways until you are successful, WAY TO GO!  

Struggling now makes the end result that much sweeter because you worked hard to get to a goal and it gives you a greater sense of accomplishment than something that you didn’t have to work for.  That’s how you get to your goals, you may fall a lot of times but its all about learning from your past mistakes, getting back up, and pushing a little further the next time, that will make you successful.  

When I say learning from your past mistakes I do not mean beating yourself up about why you were not successful.  When we are not able to accomplish our goals we start to beat ourselves up and start negative talk.  Get rid of the negative self-talk.  “I can’t do that”, “I couldn’t do it before…”, “I don’t like to diet”, “I’m just big boned”, “I don’t like to exercise”, “it’s too hard”.  Words are very powerful whether they are spoken or thought.  We have the power to motivate ourselves and push ourselves a little further or to stop the whole process in its tracks.  

Believing that you can do it makes you act like you can do it and when you act like you can do it you start modeling the behaviors of what you believe.  The same stands for if you tell yourself you can’t do it, you are less likely to put forth effort to reach that goal.  

Start thinking back to what made you successful the prior times or a time you felt successful at something, it doesn’t have to be about your current goal.  What have you tried to do in the past that you have had success in, was it a difficult class that you managed to pass?  Remember what you thought?  “Wow! I can do this!”, “why did I ever doubt myself?”, “I finally made it!”, “what was I waiting for?”.

Think back to the times that you were successful at anything and start to envision yourself feeling that way about reaching your present goal.  Imagine yourself being thinner, non-smoker, non-drinker, healthier … and then start acting like it!

I’d really like to hear from you.  What are some examples of times you have been successful at something?  How did that make you feel?

Update!  New blog at wait2goal.com its called weight 2 goal and talks about what I’m doing now to continue my weight loss.  I talk to you about a book that helped me to get started believing in myself in my advertisements page, follow me, like me, leave a reply.