Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So far we have been talking about setting your goals and writing them down and writing down the reasons why you want to reach your goal.  For me I finally had a wake up call.  My blood work was coming back out of control, I was not feeling good on a regular basis.  My sugar was high, my good cholesterol way down, my bad cholesterol way up…  just to mention a few of the labs that I had gotten back.  Scary.  I learned a lot throughout my journey and I’m going to do my best to share what I can with you to help make you just as successful.

When I finally sat down and wrote down my list of reasons why I wanted to lose weight I put it down in a note book.  That’s a great start because once you have written something down you sort of commit to it and are more likely to do it.  The next step is to be able to see your reminders because I have found the old saying of “out of sight out of mind” to be so true.  What you want to do is you want to put your reminder somewhere you will most likely be when you need to remember.  The 3 places that were most effective for me were:

1. Mirrors

The bathroom mirror is among the top three because you visit the bathroom often during the day.  It is well lit and you have to stop to use the toilet, you have to stop to wash your hands.  So the more exposure you can have to your needed reminders, the better.  Put up a board that you can post things to at eye level when you are sitting on the toilet or put sticky notes on the mirror.  A great way to start off the day is with some direction or purpose to that day.  Keeping reminders in your bedroom on a mirror is a great place to start the day.

2. Computer Screen

I use my computer for everything…. Just about.  When I have something to remember I will either draw up a quick note on my computer or do things the old fashion way by using a sticky note on the side of my computer screen.  When I need a reminder or some added encouragement I just need to glance up.

3. Depends on the goal

The third spot is dependent on the goal.  If your goal is to lose weight and I know I have a hard time staying away from the fridge then the best place would be to put the reminder on the refrigerator door.  If you are trying to quit smoking then the best place to put your reminder in my opinion is on top of or in your cigarette pack, so on and so forth.

Hope this information helps you get started off on the right foot and successful in the long run.

UPDATE:  I have just started running and am on week 2 day 2.  Getting ready to go right now.  I have to say I have never in my life thought of myself as a runner and am surprised at how much I am enjoying it.  I’m working on starting a new blog on my website wait2goal.com and the blog is going to be called weight 2 goal.  I can’t wait to tell you more!

Thanks so much for reading and following me!  Please take a moment to leave a comment to tell us where are the best places you have found to post reminders.

Mery

 

